NYFOA Speakers Bureau

NYFOA's Director of Organizational Development, Mike Zagata, has developed a Speakers Bureau. This is a list of topics and speakers who have volunteered to talk about these topics at NYFOA events. Chapter Program Directors are invited to contact these speakers directly to arrange for presentations. Mike considers this a work-in-progress and invites all NYFOAns to contact him with suggestions for additional topics and additional speakers.

Here's a PDF of the table below.



Current Topics and Speakers
Topics Name Phone # E-Mail Adrress
Real Property Tax Law - Forest Practices Act Mike Zagata, Ph.D. (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Sec. 480-a and 480-b
Duncan Davies - NY Senate (607) 432 - 5524 davie@senate.state.ny.us

John Bartow - ESFPA (518) 463 - 1297 jbartow@esfpa.org

David J. Colligan (716) 885 - 1150 dcolligan@colliganlaw.com

Low Grade Wood Markets

Biomass
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Early Succession/Young Forests
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Need for Openings
Scott Stoleson, Ph.D. (814) 563 - 1080 sstoleson@fs.fed.us

Cornell Ornithological Lab

Habitat Value
The Nature Conservancy

Mike Burger - Audubon NY
mburger@audubon.org

Phil Zeph - Penn DCNR
pazeph@pa.gov

Andy Weik - Ruffed Grouse Society (607) 793 - 4832 andyw@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Linda Ordiway - Ruffed Grouse Society (412) 720 - 6034 lindao@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Kaylee Resha - NWTF Lower Hudson (518) 828 - 4385 Kresha@nwtf.org

Wildlife - Species Specific
NY DEC 9 Regional Offices

Deer
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

CCE of Greene & Columbia Cty. (518) 622 - 9820

Bob Beyfus (518) 622 - 9820

Marilyn Wyman (518) 622 - 9820 X36 mfw10@cornell.edu



Jerry Michael (607) 648 - 2941 gotreego80@gmail.com

Regeneration John Hunter - Whitetails Unlimited (607) 426 - 8292 jhunterwtu@yahoo.com

Tim Day - DEC Kirkwood, NY


Elena Steele - NRCS (607) 723-1384 x-112 elena.steele@ny.usda.gov

Tim Russell - QDMA (315) 530-7328 trussell@qdma.com

Walt Carson - Univ. of Pittsburgh

Chris Tcimpidis (845) 866 - 6200 chris@bevanforestry.com


Wildlife
Shanna Shaw
shanna.shaw@ny.usda.gov

White Deer -Senaca Army Depot
Dennis Money - Canandaigua (315) 759 - 8220 info@senecawhitedeer.org

Turkey
Kaylee Resha - NWTF Lower Hudson (518) 828 - 4385 Kresha@nwtf.org

Ruffed Grouse
Andy Weik (607) 793 - 4832 andyw@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Linda Ordiway (412) 720 - 6034 lindao@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Tim Flanagan - PA Photographer (814) 623 - 7865 tim-natureexposure@comcast.net

American Woodcock
Andy Weik (607) 793 - 4832 andyw@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Linda Ordiway (412) 720 - 6034 lindao@ruffedgrousesociety.org

Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Tim Flanagan - PA Photographer (814) 623 - 7865 tim-natureexposure@comcast.net


Songbirds
Local Audubon Chapters

Cornell Ornithological Lab - Kevin McGowan
kjm2@cornell.edu

Audubon Breeding Bird Survey

Audubon Christmas Bird Count

Tom Kerr - Buffalo Audubon (585) 457 - 3228

Joel Strong
joelstrong78@yahoo.com

Mike Burger - Audubon NY
mburger@audubon.org

Crows
Kevin McGowan - Cornell Ornithological Lab
kjm2@cornell.edu


Rick Marsi - Wildlife Photographer
www.rickmarsi.com

Blue Birds
NY Bluebird Society

Vegetation

Wildflowers

Invasives
Chris Tcimpidis (845) 866 - 6200 chris@bevanforestry.com

Multi-flora Rose
Bob Beyfuss

Ginseng
Janet Allen
hg.cny@verizon.net

Mushrooms
Don Gasiewicz - Cornell
drg35@cornell.edu

Lake Ontario Fishery

Altmar Hatchery
Fran Verdoliva - DEC (315) 751 - 6047

Salmon River & Tribs Fishery
Fran Verdoliva - DEC (315) 751 - 6047

Lake Ontarion Fishery
Fran Verdoliva - DEC (315) 751 - 6047

Fishing
Bill Hilts Jr.
billhiltsjr@gmail.com

Timber Harvest/Management
Chris Tcimpidis (845) 866 - 6200 chris@bevanforestry.com

Mike Blasko (607) 373 - 9660 mytreez@hotmail.com

Rod Jones (607) 865-5917 rjones52@stny.rr.com

Bernie Braun
bbraun1@nycap.rr.com

History of New York's Forests
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

MFO Visits
NYFOA Volunteers

Logger Perspective

Sawmill Owner Perspective
Dave Wightman - Wightman Lumber (607) 286 - 9201 dbwightman@wightmanlumber.com

Dave Wightman - Wightman Lumber (607) 286 - 9201 dbwightman@wightmanlumber.com

Determing Wood Value Dave Wightman - Wightman Lumber (607) 286 - 9201 dbwightman@wightmanlumber.com

Quality and Availability Tom Gerow (607) 760 - 7491

Timber Markets & Availability Markets (Domestic & Foreign) NYFOA Volunteers

Dave Wightman - Wightman Lumber (607) 286 - 9201 dbwightman@wightmanlumber.com

Timber Theft
DEC ECO

Sawmill Visit
Dave Wightman - Wightman Lumber (607) 286 - 9201 dbwightman@wightmanlumber.com

Ames/True Temper - Unadilla, NY

Wagner Lumber - several mills

Gutchess Lumber - Cortland

Unalam - Sidney, NY

Harden Furnature ?

Ryan Marrs - Gutchess Mill in Freeddom (716) 258 - 1797


Timber Harvest Management
Bruce Robinson (716) 665 - 5477 bero1@windstream.net

Pat Marren
pjmarren@gw.dec.state.ny.us


American Chestnut
Alan Nichols


NYS Timber Growing Contest
Dean Faklis - NYFOA
dfaklis@frontiernet.net

Dave Williams
kdwillmill@gmail.com

Maple Syryp - Gathering & Processing
Steve Childs

Eric Randall - Maple Producers Assn.
Randall-maple@msn.com

Threats From Insects & Disease
Mark Whitmore - Cornell

Gypsy Moth
Mark Whitmore - Cornell

Emerald Ash Borer
DEC Regional Foresters

Forest Tent Caterpillar (Sugar Maple) DEC Regional Foresters

Eastern Tent Caterpillar & Peach Bark Beetle DEC Regional Foresters

Asian longhorned Beetle
DEC Regional Foresters

Surveying

Archaeology

Shale Oil
Cornell Co-Op Extension

Pros & Cons
Kim Sherwood
ripguy@windstream.net

Economic Impact
Kim Sherwood
ripguy@windstream.net

Environmental impact
Kim Sherwood
ripguy@windstream.net

Natural Gas Pipeline Construction
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Pros & Cons
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Economic Impact
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

Environmental Impact
Mike Zagata (607) 435 - 0733 mzagata@stny.rr.com

©2018 New York Forest Owners Association

All Rights Reserved.

Contact Us

NYFOA

PO Box 541 Lima, NY 14485

PHONE: 800-836-3566

EMAIL: info@nyfoa.org

LET'S GET SOCIAL

Support Us

NYFOA is registered with Amazon Smile, help support us!